What Is My Vedic Astrological Sign?

Vedic astrology is a method of evaluating the constellations, planets, and other solar objects to determine how they influence our individual lives. In that sense, Vedic astrology is similar to Western astrology and Asian astrology. However, the way in which planet placement and other details are calculated are different, which makes many astronomers feel that Vedic astrology is the more accurate of the systems. Vedic astrology is also known as Hindu astrology, Indian astrology, Jyotishya, and Jyotisha.

Astronomers from the ancient cultures all communicated with each other, shared resources, and collaborated on projects. Because of that, they agreed on the names for the foundational constellations they saw in the sky. Similarly, they all saw the same planets in the sky. So the information on those constellations and planets are naturally consistent across the systems.

Here are the twelve key constellations in the Vedic astrology system, along with their significant details.

*Note that these are only overall starting groupings. A great deal of information is gained
from knowing other details about additional planet placement

ConstellationWestern SignDate RangeRepresentationElementQualityRuling Planet
Mesa / MeshaAriesApril 13 to May 14Ram (male sheep with horns)FireMovableMars
Vrsabha / VrishabaTaurusMay 15 to June 14Bull (male cow with horns)EarthFixedVenus
MithunaGeminiJune 15 to July 14Twins (male and female siblings)AirDualMercury
Karkata / KarkaCancerJuly 15 to August 14CrabWaterMovableMoon
SimhaLeoAugust 15 to September 15Lion (male lion with mane)FireFixedSun
KanyaVirgoSeptember 16 to October 15Young woman (unmarried virgin)EarthDualMercury
TulaLibraOctober 16 to November 14Scales (balance set)AirMovableVenus
Vrishchika / VrscikaScorpioNovember 15 to December 14ScorpionWaterFixedMars
Dhanus / DhanusaSagittariusDecember 15 to January 13Bow and arrow (archer)FireDualJupiter
MakaraCapricornJanuary 14 to February 11CrocodileEarthMovableSaturn
KumbhaAquariusFebruary 12 to March 12Woman carrying a jug of waterAirFixedSaturn
Meena / MinaPiscesMarch 13 to April 12Pair of fishes swimming in a circleWaterDualJupiter

Mesa / Mesha – Aries – April 13 to May 14

Traditional calendars start with the spring solstice and the coming of the new growing year. Aries is the initial sign of spring. Aries is represented by a ram – a male sheep with horns. This is a fire element with a movable quality. It is ruled by Mars.

Vrsabha / Vrishaba – Taurus – May 15 to June 14

Next up is Taurus, the bull. This is a sign of strength and power. A bull is a male cow, also with horns. This is an earth element with a fixed quality. It is ruled by Venus.

Mithuna – Gemini – Gemini – June 15 to July 14

Gemini is traditionally represented by the twins. Gemini is often represented by one male and one female human brother and sister. Gemini is an air sign, with a dual quality, which of course makes sense. It is guided by Mercury.

Karkata / Karka – Cancer – July 15 to August 14

Cancer unfortunately has a negative connotation in our modern world. It’s a shame the same word was used for two entirely different things. Maybe focus on this sign being karkata – the crab. The crab is a water sign and is movable. It is guided by the moon.

Simha – Leo – August 15 to September 15

Leo is the lion, traditionally a male lion with a mane. This is a fire sign with a fixed quality. The ruling body is the sun, which often is represented as a lion’s head with a mane flowing out around it.

Kanya – Virgo – September 16 to October 15

Virgo is one of the few signs which is specifically represented as female. Virgo tends to be shown as a healthy woman in her late teens / early twenties. Traditionally she is shown to be an unmarried virgin. She is an earth element, with dual quality, and ruled by Mercury.

Tula – Libra – October 16 to November 14

Libra is the sign of the scales, as in a balance set which is in equilibrium. Libra is the only sign which is depicted as an inanimate object. For that reason, many times it is shown with a person holding the scales, doing the judging. Libra is an air element with movable quality. The ruling planet is Venus.

Vrishchika / Vrscika – Scorpio – November 15 to December 14

Scorpio is the scorpion. This is one of the smallest sign representations, if not the smallest, and yet the scorpion is just as powerful and dangerous. This is a water element with fixed quality and ruled by Mars.

Dhanus / Dhanusa – Sagittarius – December 15 to January 13

Sagittarius is one of the constellations which differs – partially – from the matching Western astrology symbol. In Western astrology, Sagittarius is a half-human, half-horse centaur which wields a bow and arrow. In Vedic astrology, Sagittarius is more about the bow and arrow and an archer. There is less to no focus on the centaur as being involved. The element is fire, the quality is dual, and the ruling planet is Jupiter.

Makara – Capricorn – January 14 to February 11

Similarly, Capricorn sees a change between Western astrology and Vedic astrology. In Western astrology, Capricorn is a mythical sea creature: half goat, half fish. In Vedic astrology, this sign is represented by the very real and intensely dangerous crocodile. The element is earth, the quality is movable, and the ruling planet is Saturn.

Kumbha – Aquarius – February 12 to March 12

The representational symbol for Aquarius is a woman in her late teens / early twenties carrying a jug of water. This was a traditional task for women in many cultures, to fetch water from a well or river to be used in a household. Where Virgo generally represents a woman about to become married, Aquarius tends to represent that woman after she has gotten married and is now caring for her new family. This is the air element, fixed quality, ruled by Saturn.

Meena / Mina – Pisces – March 13 to April 12

Pisces is represented by a pair of fishes, often swimming in a circle head-to-tail. They are the water element, dual quality, ruled by Jupiter. Remember that this initial sign determination is only a tiny part of Vedic astrology. This only shows the main influence on a person when they were born. It’s important to take into account all of the other planet and bodies’ positions at birth, and then also to look at where they are now in the current sky. That will help you plan your path in life which leads you to your dreams.

About Author

Rajul Kaushik

As a result of my journey that spans continents and results in resilience and self-belief, I have navigated my way from self-doubt and social rejection to a senior executive role internationally.

It has been an unconventional path, guided by life’s lessons and invaluable mentors, that has led to key roles at Asian Paints and Ballarpur Industries Limited, and expanded my horizons in international business.

My greatest source of pride? My accomplished children, who embody the values I cherish. My approach is holistic, drawing on a range of methodologies such as Ikigai, Yoga, Mindfulness, Sanskrit Mantra Chanting and Vedic Astrology.

It extends beyond mere problem-solving, emphasizing introspection and forging an authentic path.

Success, I believe, is rooted in attitude, decisions, and meaningful relationships.

I am open to connecting with those seeking personal enrichment, especially within the global Indian diaspora.

Top Posts

Recommended Articles!

Scroll to Top